Oh, life.

So, I’m finally carving a big, fat, completely paved, all signs go in this direction path in my life. It’s lovely, amazing, refreshing, revitalizing, and wonderful.

For months upon months I have been trying to figure out the best way to go about doing what I want to do and it has never been quite solid for me because I did not like the options that I had available, nor did I think they were doors that would be open to me. In January of this year I met a wonderful girl named Sara, who smacked me right in the face with the perfect career that she had chosen as her own, as her current major. I was instantly intrigued and could not believe that for so long it didn’t even pop into my brain as an idea! She is such a great and interesting person, with interests so similar to mine it makes me wonder how we don’t spend more time together, that I looked up what she had told me on our coffee date as soon as I got home. Library science. Perfection is what it should have been called.

How fitting it is, for the girl with piles of books everywhere around her room and stashes of them in the attic. The one who used to sneak reading in during bed time when she was little by a night light next to the mattress (only to be found the next morning by her mother asleep in a nook against the wall, face smashed into a book), reader of encyclopedias when running out of things to read, to be a librarian.

So! I have been thinking over this since January. About the one and only time I visited the National Archives in D.C. and many of the libraries there and how I had an INSANE spaz attack at being inches away from the Declaration of Independence. (Pictured below πŸ˜‰ ) How I would love to work with those things every day of my life.

My hair is short. I had a fashiony mohawk at one time.

And I thought. And thought. And thought. Until this past week when I was thinking of grad school and how I want to be there by the time I’m 25, which gives me 2 years to finish up my business here and get my bachelors done. I was excited! I’m so thrilled to be reaching a halfway point that I began to search. I searched for the best graduate schools and their rankings, looking for ones surrounded by museums. I purposely skewed my own search results to make myself end up in Washington, D.C. so that I could be close to plenty of them. I knew I was skewing them.

I declared a school in D.C. my goal and was proud! But I knew I had skewed it. I looked at their graduate rankings for Information and Library Science and they were nowhere near what my other front runner had to offer. They had museums. This other location has a big fat library with an amazing archives section. It stole my heart away when I looked with fresh eyes.

I didn’t want to leave the south, I’m too in love with it. This school is there. My parents own property across the state. This school is there. It’s been #1 for 8 years in that major. This school is IT! Say hello to my big, fat, new obsession:

IN LOVE, with this place. I am head over freaking heels in love with Chapel Hill, NC. The school, the town, the scenery, the fact that wisteria grows along the streets in the spring, every bit of it.

So my plan now? Work my ass off and make sure I study my ass off for the GRE exam and get my ass into that grad school. I am consumed with the desire to get into this school, it is the only thing I am thinking about and every action I take will get me there.

No coincidences! I firmly believe I was meant to meet Sara and she was meant to steer me towards this goal and I will be grateful for it til the day I die. Hooray!

It feels so great to type that. It feels so great to have a goal!! It’s completely changed my views of what I’m doing. In light of that, I have started working out with the lovely Sean! Sean is someone who practices crossfit, an awesome workout that utilizes and maximizes what the human body was meant to do. It works out your full body every time you do it and you do actions that you use in every day life. That makes it sooo much more appealing!

What makes it unappealing: the fact that I am in utter AGONY today and can barely stand because my muscles lock up. It’s the price I pay for a sexy butt, HAH! It was fun though, I’m very excited. Sean is a great trainer. When my legs physically would not let me continue doing squats (I seriously could not lift myself up, the front of my thighs had turned into jelly) he altered it to have me do sit ups, which I gave everything I could. I was really worried he’d think I was faking to get out of doing squats so I’m glad he gave me an alternate to prove to him I was serious.

I definitely recommend crossfit workouts Β πŸ˜€

Oh yeah, I totally got sick while we were doing it. Soooo not fun. That means it’s working though! YEAH!

Another plus (almost) is that I might be getting my very own dog! I’m so excited! As part of my no coincidences philosophy of life, when my mom called about a week ago and told me my dad might be bringing another dog home, I was baffled since we have so many pets. Then she told me it was a german shepherd. I have been telling her I want one of those for years and years and that when I move out I want to have one. Since I’ll most likely be living alone I want to feel safe and to me a dog would add to that feeling. I couldn’t believe it! Someone my dad knows has a customer who is too old to take care of a big dog and doesn’t feel she gives the dog what it needs and she loves that we live on 16 acres and love animals.

The plan as of right now is to have me go visit and spend time with her and build up a relationship with her so that I can bring her home and be “in control” of her and be her master when we introduce her to our other pups. I’m getting all this from Cesar Milan, people. She is A-DORABLE. I’m in love. Two loves in one week, I may just die.

Isn’t she so cute!!? Her name is Bella. Awww. I think she’ll fit right in when I move to NC πŸ˜‰ And I am promptly watching 2 seasons and 1 special of the dog whisperer to make sure she comes into the house without much trouble!

I plan to post my pot pie attempt tomorrow and my tips on how to make it so yours doesn’t suck like mine did. Also my tips on how to make chocolate croissants even better. πŸ™‚

Other recipes to come soon:

  • Home made carrot cake a la Peas and Thank You (mine wont be vegan though)
  • Zucchini fritters a la Runners World (even though I made cakes before)
  • Healthy open face turkey sandwich
  • Bruschetta a la Julie and Julia πŸ˜‰
  • Granola bars from a yet to be determined location!

If you have anything you’d like me to make, let me know! I’m willing to try anything. So if you have a recipe you’re too scared to make, tell me! I’ll post it here and tell you my results, good or bad πŸ˜€

Obligatory cat shot. Lou is on the hunt!

6 thoughts on “Oh, life.

  1. I am so glad I clicked on this link. I really hope to read more about carving your life! I feel like I’m restarting my own so any inspiration and community I can find is much appreciated. have a good one!
    Katherine

    • Awww, thank you!! I’m so glad you enjoyed the entry and understand where I’m coming from! πŸ™‚

      & I’ll definitely give you as much support as I can, I’m an excellent cheerleader πŸ˜‰

  2. Yay for finding your passion! I felt so out of place until I realized mine and I’m SO glad I did. It’s amazing how your outlook on life can change in an instant and from only knowledge without event.

    • It really is!!! I have a very “all or nothing” personality when I get into something so the fact that I finally found something like this is sooo beneficial for me! πŸ™‚

      Go us!

  3. I’m so glad that you’re deciding to pursue Library Science! I love it and I think you’ll be really happy doing it. I felt the same way about my life and career goals until I discovered what I really wanted to do. Let me know how your plans progress. And, yes, let’s hang out again soon!

    • If it weren’t for you I never would have known it was there! It’s so great and I’m so glad to finally have a goal that doesn’t feel like I need special treatment and opportunities to accomplish.

      And we sooo are once you’re back from N’olans!

Leave a Reply

