Chicken Pot Pie (Attempt #1)

A few entries ago I was gushing about my love for Nigella Lawson and how I wanted to make her chocolate cake. I spent way too much time hopping through youtube watching her make things until I came across a video of her making a chicken pot pie. She made it in about 15 minutes! Oh, this solved my problem. I have been dying for a simple pot pie recipe because, friends, pot pie and I….we have a love. A love that is thick like gravy.

Needless to say I was thrilled! I immediately started making sure we had everything I would need to prepare this masterpiece.

Above is the video I watched of Nigella, the recipe on the food network site is a little different but essentially the same.

I altered the recipe a bit with what I put in (mushrooms are gross!) and because I had to triple it to make enough for my parents and I. My alterations are in bold!

  • 3 rashers streaky bacon, cut or scissored into 1-inch strips (5 strips)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic infused oil (I just used olive oil and later added garlic powder)
  • 2 cups chestnut mushrooms, sliced into 1/4-inch pieces (I used carrots and broccoli)
  • 8 ounces chicken thigh fillets cut into 1-inch pieces (3 chicken breasts)

From here I just tripled the ingredients.

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 1/4 cups hot chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon MarsalaΒ (didn’t use)
  • 1 (13-ounce) 9 by 16-inch sheet all-butter ready-rolled puff pastry (I used regular since, then added butter)

Now, I’m not going to lie. My attempt was only okay, but my goal is to take y’all through with me on my good and bad ventures of cooking here. I know how frustrating it can be when you follow directions to a T and you end up with a result that is not what you thought it would be.

Time to begin!

Preheat the oven to 425, put your pot (or pan, I used a pot given the size of mine) on the heat, add your oil. Once your oil is heated add in your bacon.


Take your chicken and add it into a ziploc bag. Add your seasonings along with all of your flour and shake shake shake it up! I added some pepper and onion powder at this point, along with thyme.

Since I’m new…bear with me! I forgot to take pictures of a few steps πŸ˜‰

Add your butter into the pan and make sure it melts completely.

Then dump the contents of your chicken/flour bag into the pot, including all the flour left in there! That is helping to make the “gravy” part of the pot pie thicker. (Also called a roux)

Add in your vegetables! Β I had a rude awakening at this point. I was going to add a bag of frozen peas and carrots but my Papa had neglected to buy them! So I had to scramble and find some veggies. Carrots and broccoli were there to save the day!

While your chicken is starting to cook and get some color put your chicken stock into a pot and get it hot. Once your chicken has some color add in your stock. Stir!

At this point, because of the roux you have going you should have a creamy thing going on in your pot.

I added some more flour to get it a little creamier (although it ended up still needing more thickening.) I also added some more spices. Onion powder, garlic powder, some herbs. Except…I accidentally took the whole cap off of the onion powder and dumped about half the bottle in, HAH!! Lucky for me I had a ladle on hand and it didn’t get absorbed super fast.

Continue… πŸ˜‰ Let this simmer for about 5-10 minutes. Remove it from the heat then ladle it into your dish of choice.

Now, take your pastry dough and unroll it. Cut strips that are thin to cover the outside of your bowls or dish. Dip your finger in some water and slide it along the areas where you are going to put your dough. This helps it to stick.

After you’ve done this, take the remaining sheet you have and lay it over the top, pinching the edges to make sure it stays in place. I had to use 2 different sheets for mine, to make sure it was covered. You’ll see the line on my pie πŸ˜‰

Into ze oven!

Now, it was at this point that I forgot I was going to add butter to the top of it to make it all deliciously golden and to add some flavor. Standard puff pastry dough is rather boring. So I scrambled and slathered it with some butter after it had been in the oven for 10 minutes :X

Cook for about 20 minutes, or until your pastry looks full and risen. It burns easily so watch out πŸ™‚

Voila! Pot Pie!

Scoop out large delicious portions and proceed to gobble up.

Now. For my feeback. I’ll do this in a list.

  1. Puff pastry is a pain in the ass to cut through so I recommend individual portions/bowls. Then you are able to just mush it into your own bowl. πŸ˜‰
  2. Make sure your bacon is crispy before continuing with the steps. It seems like common sense but I assumed it would cook more as it was on the heat. It stayed pretty pink and never got crispy so I ended up with these bacon chunks I was too scared to eat.
  3. Add some friggin onion. That would have made this dish so so so much better. In every other recipe I see there is onion added and this one did not have it.
  4. Next time I would consider cooking the chicken in a separate pan and then adding it into my pot. It absorbed almost all the seasonings that I put into it and therefore my pie came out so bland. Adding salt when it was plated fixed it pretty well but still. I sucks to have to see people add seasonings to your food!
  5. It should have been creamier. Goopy, even! This was still pretty soupy. It wasn’t oozing around on my plate like I would have liked it to, so I probably would have added a bit more flour or even some corn starch. Xanthan gum is supposed to work as well but I’ve never attempted it.

Overall it wasn’t a bad experience as it was my first one ever making a pot pie. I can’t hit every nail on the head when I make something for the first time unless it’s cornbread or pulled pork. πŸ˜‰

I’d give it 2.5/5 stars. I’m halfway there! I just don’t expect to get all the way there til it’s a wee bit colder and a pot pie is a welcome thing to eat πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie (Attempt #1)

Leave a Reply

